Skip to content Skip to navigation

About the Board on Judicial Affairs

The Board on Judicial Affairs (BJA) is a 15-person standing committee composed of Stanford faculty, staff and students (both graduate and undergraduate) that is charged with overseeing judicial affairs including adopting or modifying bylaws specifying policies and procedures, adopting and/or modifying the Student Conduct Penalty Code, and proposing amendments to the Student Judicial Charter of 1997. The BJA consists of students jointly appointed by the Undergraduate Senate and the Graduate Student Council of the Associated Students of Stanford University, faculty appointed by the Senate of the Academic Council, and university staff approved by the Vice Provost for Student Affairs. 

In accordance with the Student Judicial Charter of 1997, the Board on Judicial Affairs welcomes input from members of the Stanford community and invites them to propose suggestions about modification of judicial procedures. The BJA encourages open discussion while also recognizing the necessity of confidentiality in its discussion of sensitive topics. Summarized minutes will continue to be published on the web. Requests to present business in front of the BJA should be directed to the BJA co-chairs. Guests will be invited to attend specific parts of BJA meetings as appropriate. The BJA will have an open forum at least once per year for the community to contribute public comment.

2017–18 BJA Meeting Minutes:

Fall Quarter

November 3, 2017

November 16, 2017

December 1, 2017 - No Minutes, Board met with OCS Director Applicant 

Winter Quarter

January 17, 2018

January 31, 2018

February 14, 2018

February 28, 2018

Spring Quarter

April 12, 2018

Board Members, 2017–18 Academic Year


  • Ross Shachter, Management Science and Engineering*~ Faculty Co-Chair
  • James Campbell, History*
  • Janet Carlson, Graduate School of Education
  • Lisa Douglass, Law School
  • Patricia Jones, Biology*
  • Michael Rosenfeld, Sociology


  • Cathy Glaze, Title IX Office
  • Elsa Gontrum, Bechtel International Center
  • Anna Wang, Law School


  • Catherine Sancez, Human Biology (undergraduate), Student Co-chair
  • Gabriela Gavrila, Education  (graduate)
  • Natalie Geise, Chemistry (graduate)
  • Sarah Johnson, Mechanical Engineering (graduate)*
  • Elise Kostial, Political Science (undergraduate)
  • Victoria Munoz Torres, Law (graduate)

* returning member